View RSS Feed

aztimm's training blog

I've been swimming with USMS teams since 1998. I lifeguarded and played water polo in college, but never really swam as a sport until I began masters swimming. I swim mostly just for exercise and the benefits that provides. I do occasionally swim in meets, but really enjoy open water swimming.
Currently I train with a small local team, along with some solo swims.

I also lift weights, mostly to complement swimming, and to give my upper body some form. Nearly all the time I lift at one of the local 24 Hour Fitness locations.

This blog has some info on my swimming adventures, with some real-life experiences thrown in. I love to travel, and usually try to fit in swimming/working out in different places.

1. Monday 09132010: Back to the Grind

by , September 14th, 2010 at 12:34 AM (aztimm's training blog)
    Still feeling a little jet lagged. I think my last Europe trip went better on that end since I came back and went to work the next day. A weekend sounds nice, with time to recover and do laundry, but I think it is better to force yourself back on schedule.

Anyway, I made it to swim workout this morning with the team, Kino Aquatic Center (SCY)
    Paul and Laura were both on deck coaching, I was on Paul's side

was one of the first there, but spent a few min on deck chatting with Laura about my trip. I still was the 2nd in the water.. I was nearly finished with my warm-up when Juan dove in the lane to share with me.

got in 800 w/u

8 x 50 @ 1:05, rudder drill (kickboard between legs)
    odds free, evens back

450 swim or pull, every 4th 25 back (I pulled)

8 x 50 @ 1:10, odds sit on board and scull (varied as forward, backwards, and each side) down, breast kick back
    evens 25 breast arms/free kick, 25 on back double arm/breast kick

450 swim or pull, every 4th 25 breast (I pulled)

8 x 50 @ 1:05, various fly drills (don't remember specifics)
    400 swim, every 4th length fly

200 w/d

total: 3500 yards

notes--