Thread: Swimming and Weight Lifting

Participating Member

Swimming and Weight Lifting

Hello there,

I am new here and I am an amateur when it comes to swimming; this is why I would be grateful for your experienced advice.

Four years back I used to be a semi-professional squash player. I used to train almost daily and lift weights, upper and lower body on alternate days. However, I stopped as a result of a meniscus injury in my left knee... and I got busy with life.

I recently went on a diet for weight loss and started going to the gym. I tried using low-impact machines such as the bicycle. However, my pain is quite loud. I have to wear knee pads most of the time and sometimes walking too much may be an issue.

I decided to take up swimming as it is almost a no-impact sport for my knee. However I am not sure how to coordinate the weight lifting with the swimming. I intend to do 3 to 4 times a week of swimming. Is it okay if I weight lift on the same day of swimming? Moreover, if I do, should it be before or after? I am clueless with this regard. (Plus, I have no time for more than 3 to 4 times a week at the gym so I feel predisposed to weight lift on the same days as swimming)

Thanks for the advice.

Very Active Member

Re: Swimming and Weight Lifting

Yellowgirl

If you want to improve your swimming, the following exercises can be done before you get in the water. Specificity of training is very important to improve at any sport or physical activity but you’ll also need to include core exercises that will improve your athleticism / over-all fitness.

The following exercises should be done by all swimmers who want to get faster:

Lunges in streamlined position – Number of repetitions
    Kicks while lying on your back / Ankle Flexing - Timed
    Streamlined Isometrics - Timed
    Sitting up and down in streamlined position – Number of Repetitions
    Isometric EVF and then with stretch cords – Number of Repetitions