Thread: Sprint Training Advice

Participating Member

Sprint Training Advice

I have been swimming 3-6 times a week now for about two months. Within the past month I transitioned from 25-3500 meters in a practice to attempting some of this high intensity only training I keep hearing people experiment with. Maybe it isnt so "experimental" and I am just that naive.

I am swimming 3 - 5 times a week and lifting weights twice a week. I am doing mostly the weight program that Jason Lezak recommended, with some modifications. Mainly only lifiting twice a week not three(Tuesday/Thursday). My pool time has been split. MWF I am doing all high intensity sprinting with about 300 warmup and 1-200 cool down. Usually swim about 1000 after I do weights to help with muscle recovery.

I do not have a benefit of a coach blowing a whistle at me or setting up my intervals. I have been trying to "cram" as much sprint yardage into my high intensity training as possible. I have been surprised at how quickly the my body is adapting to this type of training. The first week I could not do but 4 x 25 all out sprint, without the vomit feeling. Monday of this week I was able to 8x25s, 4x37.5s and 2x50s. With 3 minutes rest in between each. I was holding around 12secs on the 25s and 28secs on the 50s, I didnt get the time for the 37.5s. These are all from a push by the way no diving blocks at the pool I practice at.

All of that just to ask if anyone has any recommendations or insight on a way forward. Or am I headed the wrong way. I wont actually get to swim in a meet until Nov.8th. I just found a pool in the area that will let me use their diving blocks!!!

Please let me know if there is any adivce. Thanks in advance.

Very Active Member

Re: Sprint Training Advice

Here is some feedback and also some questions -

Are you focusing on the 50 or also on the 100 ?

I think 300 warm-up is not enough - most people need at least 15 minutes - whatever that means in terms of distance.