Thread: Lane management for growing team

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Lane management for growing team

I am a fairly new swim coach (~7 months) for a city-based swim team. Our registrations have swelled over the last 2 weeks and I am looking for advice on lane management and structuring my workouts. I have 5 lanes - so far dividing swimmers by 100 free time. My challenge is managing my existing team (a variety of ability already) plus new swimmers (3 learning HOW to swim + 5 needing significant stroke work + 3 new swimmers that have a slow, steady pace). Just wanted to reach out to experienced coaches for guidance. I use your workouts ALL THE TIME. Thank you in advance for any advice or tips.

Participating Member
    Blog Entries

Thumbs up Re: Lane management for growing team

Quote Originally Posted by SwimJan View Post
    I am a fairly new swim coach (~7 months) for a city-based swim team. Our registrations have swelled over the last 2 weeks and I am looking for advice on lane management and structuring my workouts. I have 5 lanes - so far dividing swimmers by 100 free time. My challenge is managing my existing team (a variety of ability already) plus new swimmers (3 learning HOW to swim + 5 needing significant stroke work + 3 new swimmers that have a slow, steady pace). Just wanted to reach out to experienced coaches for guidance. I use your workouts ALL THE TIME. Thank you in advance for any advice or tips.
    Dear SwimJan: That is so nice to read that you have a lot of interest! I have a branch of a YMCA Masters team with anywhere from 3 to 6 different levels at any practice and a max of 4 lanes. I end up walking around the pool hoping I'm meeting everyone's needs, so you are not alone!