Thread: How much warm up before a meet

How much warm up before a meet

I have been participating in Local, State and Nationals meets since 10 years ago but every time I get into a meet I am always worried about warming up too much time or just not enough and I also ask to myself how much effort to put on it.

As almost all the times during meets the pool is full for the warm ups, I do not feel that my different trainers I have had during this years had put too much attention to this issue, so I would like to ask people in this forum for your recomendations.

Alex

Very Active Member
    Blog Entries

Re: How much warm up before a meet

a 5 4 3 2 1 warm up works well
    it's what eddie reese often tells his swimmers to do

500 fr
    400 IM drill
    300 pull
    200 kick
    100 4 x 25 sprints with plenty of rest
    everything with perfect form
    easy and relaxed

then do a little pace work for your first event
    easy speed with great form

if you're doing
    50's and 100's do 25's
    200's do 50's
    400's and up do 100's

just 2 to 3 not very many
    don't work these too hard.

after that you will be warmed up

if you have to wait more than an hour and a half
    maybe pop back in the water 15 - 30 minutes before you swim

after your first event is done
    if you have another event
    just warm down from your swim and do drills to prepare for your next.

you don't need to go through the whole routine again.
    work on hitting your races as fresh as you can
    it's dumb to be tired from warm up

use warm up to get ready to swim your race fast and right.

ande

Originally posted by Alex
    I have been participating in Local, State and Nationals meets since 10 years ago but every time I get into a meet I am always worried about warming up too much time or just not enough and I also ask to myself how much effort to put on it.