Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help, losing body hair

Blog Entries

Help, losing body hair

Since I have a self-imposed ban on returning to the ESPY discussion and going insane battling Ion Beza, I have a new post. Warning - this post is odd but I have been contemplating asking the panel of experts for a few months now.

Here's my problem (one among many), I'm losing my body hair. Does anyone else have this problem who swims a lot? I'm not a nutty swimmer, probably swimming around 7-8 hours per week. mostly indoors. But, I'm telling you, I am disturbed by what has happened to me. My wife is disturbed by the neighborhood women asking her if her husband shaves his legs and dyes his hair (neither of which I do).

I really didn't notice anything until I went to a party with some co-workers and was wearing shorts. The remarks have been unlimited since then. Most commonly I am now referred to as Mr. Bigglesworth, that hairless cat from the Austin Powers movie.

In all seriousness, is this a common problem? Any tips on what I can do to reverse this or mitigate it?

Wink Hair loss

I have the same problem, except it seems to be limited
    to the top of my head.

Sounds like the Chlorine is taking it's toll. Do you use one of the anti-chlorine shampoos? it might help.
    Cycling and running are sports too, you know!

Very Active Member
    Your pool is too alkaline. Perhaps you can get some help from the pool manager, but don't count on it. He/she will probably say it tests fine.

A bathing cap will do wonders to keep the hair on your head looking fresh and lustrous - until it starts falling out like mine and Fisch's. Does your skin itch? a moisturizing cream will help.

Very Active Member
    Dear Aquageek -

Phil hit the nail on the head. The alkalinity in your pool is too high. I swim at a YMCA and a couple of times each year the alkalinity climbs too high and I loss all the hair on my arms, legs, chest, and other areas (i.e. pubic hair). All gone.