Thread: Anyone have a good dryland workout?

Lightbulb Anyone have a good dryland workout?

I have been swimming for my high school for three years and now that are season is over I have been trying to get to the pool a couple times a week but its a little hard becouse it is a thirty minute drive. There is a small gym about 5 minutes away from my house that has all the same cardio and weight training things that the larger gym has except it doesn't have a pool. I was wanting to knew what dryland workouts I could do in the gym closest to me on hte days that I can't get in town. If anyone has any reccomendations for me I wuold really appreciate it. Thanks
    Last edited by Nette; June 13th, 2005 at 07:14 PM.
    You always have to give 100% because if you don't, someone, somewhere, will give 100% and will beat you when you meet.

I have not had access to a pool in 10 months. I have been doing lots of dryland training so that when I resume swim training this summer, it won't take me too long to get back into swimming shape. Here are some things that I have done:

- Running, to build cardiovascular strength
    - Pilates, to build strength and flexibility, particularly in the back and abdomen area. Try a class or a video (I like Denise Austin's).
    - Arm exercises with an exercise band, light hand-held weights, and pushups
    - Leg exercises like squats and lunges (think of strengthening your legs to push off of the wall at turns)

At the high school level you could potentially begin weight training, but if you decide to do that, you should check with a doctor and your coach to see if this is right for your body type. Also, you should get a trainer at the gym to work with you for a few sessions to show you how to properly do each exercise and check your form. If you lift weights improperly, you could injure yourself, and that would not be cool!

I hope this helps, send me a private message if you'd like more detail on any of these exercises!