Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Butterfly, Discussion on Overall Technique

Butterfly, Discussion on Overall Technique

Butterfly, Discussion on Overall Technique

I am going to reply to this post with my summary interpretation on fly technique but first I will describe where I am with the fly and how I got here.

About a year ago I casually decided to improve my horrible swimming "technique" and re-teach myself freestyle, back, and breast strokes. Somewhere along the line I started playing with the butterfly stroke too which was particularly helpful in making sure I got the most exhausting workouts. So far, my mission is to improve my enjoyment of exercise and make the best out of my limited opportunity for swimming which does not include any formal instruction (Masters would be fantastic but it's not in my near term plans.) In fact, my swimming season could end anytime now so I am taking this opportunity to record what I think I've figured out.

In reading older posts on this board, I came across a comment from someone who wrote: practice, study, practice, study, practice, ... That is what I've done. I've searched out advice on the net, downloaded and studied video, and taken a lot of notes. I haven't come across any type of consensus that the best video instruction or book to buy is "such and such" or found too much consensus on anything other that it's a hard stroke to learn. Other than for a couple of sources, info has come in bits and pieces. A personal instructor and film of myself would be great, maybe it will happen someday.