Thread: Measuring heart rate while swimming

Participating Member

Measuring heart rate while swimming

Hello everyone.

I'm looking for a way to measure my heart-rate while swimming.
    My main requirements are (please excuse my bad english):
    1. The device has to display the heart rate while i'm swimming. I'm a newbie and need to see my heart rate during my training.
    2. Optical heart rate sensors don't seem to be very reliable under water. Thus i would prefer a non-optical device.
    3. I would like to spend under 150£ if possible

Thank you!

Blog Entries

Re: Measuring heart rate while swimming

Quote Originally Posted by chrisguita View Post
    Hello everyone.

I'm looking for a way to measure my heart-rate while swimming.
    My main requirements are (please excuse my bad english):
    1. The device has to display the heart rate while i'm swimming. I'm a newbie and need to see my heart rate during my training.
    2. Optical heart rate sensors don't seem to be very reliable under water. Thus i would prefer a non-optical device.
    3. I would like to spend under 150� if possible

Thank you!
    I'm not a cardiologist, nor a technologist, but I set my Garmin Swim 2 first data screen on the Pool Swim mode to just display heart rate and it seems to correlate well with my super-scientific prior method () of putting my fingers on my carotid and counting beats for 10 seconds. I'm sure it's not perfectly accurate, but as long as it's directionally correct, that's good enough for me.

Blog Entries

When you say "while" do you mean mid stroke? cause for free, you can just measure your HR at the wall for a 6 second (so it's easy you just multiply the number by 10) or 10 second (so multiply by 6) count.

I use the 10 second count just cause thats what my college coach had us do and all my HR zones are based off those numbers.

I'm a newbie and need to see my heart rate during my training.